Open Letter

To: Applicants for the Innovation Superclusters Initiative (ISI) in Montreal
From: The Montreal Artificial Intelligence (AI) community

Hello!

We are Montreal AI, and we are excited to meet you.

We are building the 21st-century AI economy and culture here in Montreal. Through good luck and hard work, we have been recognized by the world for our leadership in AI.

We are a diverse and complex ecosystem, with many participants. We are united in our belief that AI can help our city, country and world.

Our network includes:

  • User groups
  • Professional organisations
  • Universities
  • Startups
  • Service providers
  • Educators
  • Academic researchers
  • Angel investors
  • Established enterprises
  • Artists
  • Individual practitioners
  • Venture capital funds

You will be a crucial part of this network. You represent Canada’s faith in us. We want to work with you to build an AI industry with local roots and global reach.

Our community has a tradition of open communication. Let’s speak transparently and frequently. We are most effective when we work together.

This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Help us put this city, and Canada, at the forefront of the next economy.

Signed,

Evan Prodromou, evan@fuzzy.ai, CEO, Fuzzy.ai

Vaughn DiMarco, vaughn@mtldata.com, Co-Organizer, MTLDATA

Vincent Boucher, info@montreal.ai, President & CEO, MONTREAL.AI

Matthieu Di Mercurio, matt@mtldata.com, Co-Organizer, MTLDATA

Ary Bressane, Co-Organiser, MTLDATA; Senior Data Scientist, mnubo

Yoshua Bengio, Professor, Head of MILA, Université de Montréal, IVADO, MILA, Element AI, CIFAR, yoshua.bengio@umontreal.ca

Doina Precup, Associate Professor, McGill University, dprecup@cs.mcgill.ca

Joelle Pineau, Associate Professor, McGill University, jpineau@cs.mcgill.ca

Sylvain Carle, General Partner, Real Ventures, sylvain@realventures.com

Hugo Larochelle, Research Scientist at Google Brain, hugo.larochelle@usherbrooke.ca

Dorian Kieken, dorian@ageofminds.com, CEO, Age of Minds

Paul Cuciureanu, paulcu@gmail.com, Hacking Health, NodeSchool, MtlGreen

Sylvie Gendreau sylvie@thenewschoolofcreativity.com
Les Cahiers de l’imaginaire & lecturer at Polytechnique Montreal

René Saint-Pierre, rene@envision.ai, Co-Founder, ENVISION.AI

Jean-Francois Gagné, jf@elementai.com, CEO, Element AI

Nicolas Chapados, chapados@elementai.com, Co-Founder & CSO, Element AI

Jean-Sebastien Cournoyer, Co-Founder, Element AI

Anne Martel, anne@elementai.com, Co-Founder & SVP Ops, Element AI

Philippe Beaudoin, phil@elementai.com, Co-Founder & SVP Research, Element AI

Gabriel Duford, gabriel@elementai.com, Co-Founder & SVP Dev & Tech, Element AI

Jeremy Barnes, jeremy@elementai.com, Co-Founder & Chief Architect, Element AI

Andy Mauro, co-founder and CEO, Automat

Bryan Minor, envision.ai, bryan@envision.ai

Matt Fogel, Fuzzy.ai, matt@fuzzy.ai

Stéphanie Tessier, Montréal.AI, stephanie@montreal.ai

Mehdi Merai, Co-founder & CEO, Dataperformers, mehdi@dataperformers.com

Will Salmon, Hi and Blockchain Evangelist, Infiniting.me, will.salmon@infiniting.me

Mathieu René, Software Architect, McAfee, mathieu.rene@gmail.com

François Eric King, cofounder, Blocksense.io, king@blocksense.io

Eunice You, Research Team, Aifred, eunice.you@mail.mcgill.ca

Claude Théoret, CEO, Nexalogy, cg.theoret@nexalogy.com

Brittany Flamank, Campus Coordinator, Maison Notman House, brittany@notman.org

Abhishek Gupta , Co-Founder & CEO, aifred, info@aifredhealth.com

Denis Labelle, Co-founder, President akuntsu.com, Google Ambassador, Google+ Creator, Google+, denislabel@gmail.com

Emmanuel Blanchard, Researcher in Artificial Intelligence in Education; Co-founder, IDÛ Interactive Inc, ebl@idu-interactive.com

Roberta Voulon, Co-founder & President, Les Pitonneux; LAB12.ca, roberta@pitonneux.com

Alexis Smirnov, Co-founder & CTO,Dialogue, alexis@dialogue.co

James Walker, Lead Software Developer,fuzzy.ai, walkah@fuzzy.ai

Vincent Rives, Database administrator, Healthcare network

David Dufresne, Partner, 500 Startups Canada, daviddufresne@500.co

Frederic Bastien, Co-founder & CEO, mnubo.com, fred@mnubo.com

Rodrigo Hartmann, Engineering Manager, Expedia Inc, greselle.rodrigo@gmail.com

Philippe Deschenes, Director Technology, Strategic Initiatives, Expedia, pdeschenes@expedia.com

Sylvain Pronovost, Director, R&D, Artificial Intelligence, LORAN Technologie Inc., sylvain.pronovost@lorantech.com

Jean-François Martin, Head of Products, mnubo, jfmartin@mnubo.com

Louis-Pierre Gravelle, Partner, patent attorney, Robic, gravelle@robic.com

Aditya Pendyala, VP & co-founder, mnubo, adi@mnubo.com

Dominique Bélanger, Managing Partner, Coinvest, BDC Capital, dominique.belanger@bdccapital.ca

Abhay Ghatpande, Chief Results Officer, QuixotiQ Innovation, abhay@quixotiq.com

Eleonore Jarry-Ferron, Investment Manager, Brightspark Ventures, eleonore@brightspark.com

Nathan Zylbersztejn, Chief Robot, Mr. Bot, nathan@mrbot.ai

ilias Benjelloun, Creative Director, Desjardins Lab | Montreal NewTech, bonjour@ili.as

Samantha Bilodeau, Founder, Undertone.io, samantha@undertone.io

Sydney Swaine-Simon, Co-founder and AI XPRIZE Montreal Advocate, District 3, sydney@d3center.ca

Loris Dzagoyan, Co-founder, Broid.ai, loris@broid.ai

Patrick Poirier, Founder & CTO, EruditeAI, patrick@erudite.ai

Etienne Garbugli, Author, Lean B2B: Build Products Businesses Want, etienne@leanb2bbook.com

Mathieu Dextraze, Account Manager, Images et Technologie, mdextraze@imagespc.com

Audrey Nadeau, Director – Partnerships, Keatext, audrey@keatext.ai

Christian Jacques, Partner, Fasken Martineau, chjacques@fasken.com

Dhafir Burhan, Director of R&D, eVision Inc., dhafirb@evision.ca

Thibaud Marechal, Head of Platform , Real Ventures, thibaud@realventures.com

Ludwig Magueur, Owner, CFO à la demande, ludwig@cfoalademande.com

JP LeBlanc, VP Product Engineering, Shutterstock, jpleblanc@shutterstock.com

Valentine Goddard, Lawyer, artist and community outreach worker, Self employed , valentinegoddard@yahoo.ca

Amir Moravej , Founder & CEO, Botler AI, amir@botler.ai

Ritika Dutt , Co-founder & COO, Botler AI, ritika@botler.ai

Alain Bidjerano, Vice président et associé, Hyperliens, alain@hyperliens.ca

Eric Bégin, Founder and CEO, inLibro, eric.begin@inLibro.com

Tiago Tex Pine, Data Analyst & Economy Game Designer, Hibernum, tex@texpine.com

Martin Lessard, Directeur général , MT Lab, martinlessard@mtlab.ca

Laurent Maisonnave, CEO, Seevibes , laurent@seevibes.com

Peter Bailey , Partner , Flow Ventures , pbailey@flowventures.com

Noah Chaimowicz, CEO, Yourworking Inc, nohaimo@gmail.com

Kevin Chen, CEO, Cofounder, Hyasynth Bio, kevin.chen@hyasynthbio.com

Matthew Leavitt, Doctoral Student in Neuroscience, McGill University, montrealaisupercluster@growlix.com

Kajal Puri, Data Scientist, Antuit, kajalpuri95@gmail.com

David Rowley, self, self-standing, davidrowley01@gmail.com

Gilles Lajoie, Directeur général, SOQUIJ, glajoie@soquij.qc.ca

Jean-Charles Beaudin, co-founder & data-science lead, mnubo, jcbeaudin@mnubo.com

Zafarali Ahmed, Student Researcher, McGill University; Datalogue, zafarali.ahmed@gmail.com

Emil Vanjaka, Associate, Fasken Martineau, evanjaka@fasken.com

Isabelle Bégin, Deep Learning Researcher, envision.ai, isabelle@envision.ai

Philippe Chevry, CEO, Nash Agency, phil@nash.agency

Guillaume Thoreau, UX Designer – Consultant, GTUX, gthoreau@gmail.com

Jan Arp, Director, Formfintech, jan@innovisions.tech

Schüle Marc-Olivier, Co-Founder, Myelin, info@m-o.schule

Marise Bonenfant, Information professional, Myelin, marise.bonenfant@gmail.com

Denys Normandin, Regional president, Reseau M, denysnormandin@gmail.com

Gabriel Tremblay, CEO, Delve Labs, gabriel@delvelabs.ca

Robert Fratila, Co-Founder & Director of Machine Learning and Technology, aifred, robertfratila10@gmail.com

Loïc Bertron, CTO, Mylo.ai, loic@mylo.ai

Jonathan Lebensold, Co-Founder, Paradem, jon@paradem.co

Mohamed Musbah, Head of Product, Maluuba (Microsoft), momusbah@microsoft.com

Jonathan, CEO, SanDB, jd@sandb.io

Rahul Mehrotra, Product Manager, Maluuba, Microsoft, rahul.mehrotra@microsoft.com

Marc Levasseur, Consultant communication et affaires publiques, None, mlevasseur@synap6.com

Zachary Devereaux , Director, Public Sector Solutions, Nexalogy, zdevereaux@nexalogy.com

Bart Simon, Director, Milieux Institute for Arts, Culture and Technology, Concordia University, bart.simon@concordia.ca

Manuel Vonthron, Data engineer, mnubo, mvonthron+mtldata@mnubo.com

Nicole Fu, Partner, Nav.Marketing, nicole@nav.marketing

Thomas Jelonek, Founder / CEO, envision.ai, thomas@envision.ai

Ousmane Diarra, Advisor, Digital communications, Montréal International, ousmane.diarra@mtlintl.com

Rahul Mehrotra, Product Manager, Maluuba, Microsoft, rahul.mehrotra@microsoft.com

Daniel Harris, Chief Technical Officer, SociVolta Inc., dharris@socivolta.com

Cassandra Girard, GVP, Head Consumer and Travel Industries, SAP Hybris, cassandra.girard@sap.com

Evan Henry, Lead Research and Software, Nectar Technologies Inc, evan@nectar.buzz

Angelique Mannella, Associate VP, Innovation, McGill University, angelique.mannella@mcgill.ca

Yimin Nie, Data scientist, Morgan Stanley, ymnie888@gmail.com

Jean-François Barsoum, Executive consultant, IBM, jf@barsoum.ca

Zeineb ben mami , Miss, Concordia University , benmamizeineb@gmail.com

Christian Goudreau , CEO, Arcbees.ai, christian.goudreau@arcbees.com

Paul Desmarais III, Executive Chairman of Portag3 Ventures, Power Corporation of Canada / Power Financial Corporation / Sagard Holdings , pauldthree@powercorp.com

Amine El Kaouachi, Co-Founder, Head of Research, Golden Square Mile Asset Management, amine.elkaouachi@gsmam.com

Sebastien Roy, CEO, Lean Systems, sroy@leansystems.co

Edouard Ferron-Mallett , Co-founder, Mr. Young, e.ferron-mallett@mryoung.co

Godot Huard, Entrepreneur, Quantitative, ai@virtuel.ca

Carolina Bessega, President, Stradigi Labs, carolinab@stradigilabs.com

David Jones, Chief Product Officer, LANDR Audio, djones@landr.com

Vincent Leclerc, Partner, PixMob, v@pixmob.com

Charles Truong , Chief Digital Innovation, PixMob, klik, ct@pixmob.com

Daoud Piracha, Student, McGill University, daoud.piracha@mail.mcgill.ca

Craig Buntin, CEO, SPORTLOGiQ, craig@sportlogiq.com

Jaime Camacaro, CTO, Stradigi Labs, jaimec@stradigilabs.com

Martine Bertrand, Research Scientist, Stradigi Labs, martineb@stradigilabs.com

Luis Da Costa, Research Scientist (AI), Stradigi Labs, dacosta.le@gmail.com

Yongfu Hao, Research Scientist, Stradigi Labs, yongfuh@stradigilabs.com

Danica Meredith, EdTech/Learning science, MtlEdTech, McGraw Hill, Venture for Canada, danicavm@outlook.com

Stéphane Dupuis, Business Partner, DRTP Consulting, stephanedupuis@drtp.ca

Lei Yu, Founder & Chief Architect, Northstar Informatics Inc., lei.yu@northstar-informatics.com

Charles Cao, CEO, Service ECVictor Inc., ccao@ecvictor.com

Ben Clayton , Co-founder , Plus Four , ben@plusfour.co

Vikrant Tomar, CTO, Fluent.ai, vikrant@fluent.ai

Pholysa Mantryvong, CEO, ENKIDOO.AI, pm@enkidoo.ai

Pierre Sabbagh, CEO, Roof Ai, pierre@roof.ai

Samuel Dergel, Principal, Dergel Executive Search, samuel@dergelsearch.com

David Bordeleau, Co-Founder, Managram, david.bordeleau@managram.ai

Josh Nursing, Systems Engineer, AI, Yashlabs, josh.nursing@gmail.com

Sarah Jenna, CEO and Co-Founder, My Intelligent Machines (MIMs), sarah@mims.ai

Fady Atallah , Co-founder & Head of Development, Infinite City, fady@infinite.city

Rene Pronovost, Director Operations, Maya Heat Transfer Technologies, rene.pronovost@mayahtt.com

Maryam Ziaeefard, Research Scientist, StradigiLabs, maryamz@stradigilabs.com

Maxime Beaudoin, CEO, Tonique Studio Inc., maxime@toniquestudio.com

Veryan Goodship, Business Development Manager, OpenReg, veryan.goodship@openreg.ca

Francis Quintal Lauzon, Chief Technology Officer, Clemex Technologies, francis@clemex.com

Ryan Weinstein, COO, Pillr, ryan.weinstein@pillrcompany.com

Mickael Camus, COO/CTO, My Intelligent Machines, mickael@mims.ai

Alexandre Cadrin-Chênevert, MD, Radiologist, B.Ing., Applied medical imaging machine learning researcher, CISSSL, alexandre.cadrin.chenevert@gmail.com

Christian Dansereau, PhD student in computer science, University of Montreal, christiandansereau@gmail.com

Joe Younes, Founder @ Aukan and contobox, Aukan.ca, joe@aukan.ca

Kevin Forest, Co-Founder, HD Énergie, k.forest@hdenergie.ca

David Rollert, Principal, David Rollert UX, david@rollert.net

Yu Zhang , Ph.D, McGill University , yu.zhang9@mail.mcgill.ca

Abdoulaye Baniré Diallo, Professor & CSO, UQAM & My Intelligent Machines, abd@mims.ai

Andrew Doyle, Software Developer, Montreal Neurological Institute, andrew.doyle@mcgill.ca

Kevin Forest, Co-Founder, HDEnergie, k.forest@hdenergie.ca

Kate Caldwell, UX Researcher & Information Architect, Interaction Experience, Collège Salette, kate@interactionexperience.ca

Guillaume Chabot, Entrepreneur, District 3, guillaume.2.chabot@hec.ca

Hugo Larochelle, Researcher, Google Brain, hugo.larochelle@usherbrooke.ca

James Arruda, Territory Account Manager, Electrobac, jamesmarruda@gmail.com

Sébastien Dostie, Creative Director, M&E Technical Advisor, self, sebastien.dostie@gmail.com

Gillian Nycum, Director, Humanize AI and Human Impact Lab, gillian@humanizeai.com

Francis Raymond, Student, Polytechnique de Montréal, francis.raymond.938@gmail.com

Adrian Gonzalez Sanchez, Data, AI & Business Club Co-Director – HEC

Montreal, HEC Montreal AEMBA, adrian.gonzalez-sanchez@hec.ca

Gillian Nycum, Director, Humanize AI / Human Impact Lab, gillian@humanizeai.com

Martin Bouchard, CEO, SenseAI Technologies, martin@senseai.com

Laviva Mazhar, Sr. Analyst, Ferst Capital Partners, lmazhar@ferstcapital.com

Madusha Cooray, Founder, Communitech, Waterloo Region, hello@madusha.com

Yann Larrivée, Founder, ConFoo, ylarrivee@confoo.ca

Philippe Collard, Founding Partner, Yabusame  philippe@yabusamepartners.com